Movies On Which I Have Spent Substantial Brain Power of Late

(Before I get to the customary unordered list, I would like to point out that I am blahgging from my phone for the first time. We live in the future, folks.)

Shaun of the Dead. Since I was Shaun for Halloween, I was reminded of how many references to the movie’s dialogue are, at this point, lost on me. It’s one of my favorites, but I haven’t seen it in upwards of five years. Ditto Hot Fuzz. I should probably get on that since I probably looked like a Bad Fan when someone quoted a line I’d forgotten. But hey, the costume was accurate.

image

That’s my coworker arresting me. Obviously.

Rushmore and The Royal Tenenbaums. After the truly brilliant spoof of Wes Anderson films aired on SNL, I’ve had his filmography at the back of my mind. I used to be very committed to my adoration of Rushmore, and I’m mildly terrified of watching it now since said adoration is rooted largely in nostalgia. I don’t think that’s as true of The Royal Tenenbaums since it’s both 1) a better movie and 2) not as close to my heart. That being said, I’d really like to make an Eli Cash costume. Where can I find a fringed jacket?

Psycho. See previous entry for more information.

The Usual Suspects. I hadn’t seen this till a few weeks ago. I would’ve enjoyed it more without knowing the ending, but it’s so tightly written and so well performed that I still loved every minute of it. Also, there’s a scene that involves both Clark Gregg and Giancarlo Esposito. Riveting!

Captain Phillips. Worth seeking out, to be sure. Hanks brings his A game, the direction is solid (as predicted–Paul Greengrass knows his was around this sort of storytelling), and I couldn’t have been more impressed by the collective portrayal of the Somali pirates. I’m sure the writers took all sorts of liberties in regard to how the events actually played out. But as a work of fiction with a reality-inspired bottom line–and not a docudrama–it’s riveting. Just like Clark Gregg and Giancarlo Esposito.

Josie & The Pussycats. I love this movie. I want to watch this movie. Unless I buy it or a streaming service comes through for me, I can’t foresee an opportunity to, without cost, watch this movie. So it goes.

Gravity. I still haven’t seen this. Scott and I actually intended to see it last Wednesday, but Ender’s Game screenings disallowed that. (Fandango messed up and this information was not on AMC’s site.) I know I should watch Gravity at the first possible opportunity. And I will! Probably!

The Before… Trilogy. I’m blaming this on a combination of factors, chiefly watching Ethan Hawke tear his way through Macbeth on Friday and Scott’s and my upcoming trip to Chicago. A friend of ours initially introduced us to Before Sunset and Before Sunrise, and I still haven’t seen the third but hope to somehow do so by Saturday so said friend (hi, Dirk) and I can discuss it.

Anchorman 2. Absolutely no explanation required.

Leave a Reply

