How to Fill Your Time in the City of Manhattan

So Scott, Garrus, Midna, and I moved to Manhattan a couple weeks ago (specifically Midtown East and hyperspecifically Turtle Bay). I haven’t had the chance to write much about it, and if I have had the chance (and, let’s be frank here, I absolutely have), I haven’t taken it. So I suppose I will now in my signature style.

Here is a list of how I’ve spent the last two-ish weeks!

1. I haven’t read very much, but that’s about to change, because I got a library card last week. (Fun fact: despite my former ambition to become a youth services librarian, I never had a library card when I lived in Grand Rapids. Being in New York, though, it seemed a travesty not to, especially with a beautiful two-story library less than four blocks away.) Right now, I have Runaways by Brian K. Vaughan and Daniel Handler’s Why We Broke Up checked out of the library in addition to Grant Morrison’s Batman & Robin Volume Two and The Liars’ Club by Mary Karr on loan from friends. I liked Batman & Robin Volume OneRunaways is highly addictive, I’ve been meaning to pick up Why We Broke Up for months, and The Liars’ Club is written in this truly unique voice that I can’t wait to hear more of when things slow down a bit.

2. I’m seeking out new restaurants and hangouts. I’m pleased to announce that we, like everyone else in this city, have a favorite bagel shop. I also really like grocery shopping (huh?) since our store’s a few hundred feet away and it has one of the better supermarket delis I’ve seen. (And to those who assumed food is far more expensive here, yeah, it’s not always cheap, but you also probably haven’t looked hard enough.)

3. I’m watching the Olympics. So are you. So are we all. I’ve said this before, and I’ll probably say it again: for a week and a half every four years, gymnastics becomes the thing I love most in the world (with the possible exception of fresh strawberry cream cheese from Ess-a-Bagel). Finding out that the ultra-charming Gabby Douglas is a Vampire Diaries fan only encouraged this love.

4. I’ve worked just like always, except I happen to be doing it in my living room while tour buses drive by and I make a mental list of what I want to pick up at the fruit stand or the library later. Our apartment is located between the U.N. and Rockefeller Center, so every day from around 9am till 6pm, tour buses creak on by. It’s not my favorite thing about our place, but it’s probably the most amusing.

5. I’ve sat on our couch with my toes curled into the Flor, smiling like a fool at Scott, the cats, the furniture, the curio, and this apartment, this place I’d never seen before July 23, this 1BR/1BA that perhaps not suddenly but certainly quickly feels like home.

And that is, in fact, what I’m doing right now.

3 thoughts on “How to Fill Your Time in the City of Manhattan

  1. Agreed … tourists are easily the most annoying and most amusing thing about living in a major city. Here in DC, I especially love them on the metro :-)

Leave a Reply

