An Open Letter To Damon Lindelof

UPDATE: Hours after I published it, Damon did give this a read and sent me the following response via Twitter.

“I was genuinely moved by your words. That being said, defend? Yes. Apologize? Never.”

Dear Mr. Lindelof,

First, let me say this: I am a fan, for reasons both generic and idiosyncratic. I find you to be an excellent writer, and I always liked the way you said “Hello, Carlton” with such measured rage on each installment of Dispatches from the Island. I think you’re funny, and clever, and one of the most important writers in the entertainment industry today.

However.

It seems, of late, you feel the need to apologize for how you and Mr. Cuse ended Lost. At first, it was cute, the way you read angry tweets in public and re-tweeted new messages, accepting them as backhanded compliments. But more and more, it seems as though you’ve bought the hype of however many people hated the Lost finale. Never do you defend the decisions you made as a writer and co-showrunner. Instead, you remind your followers that you’re a subject of some angry nerds’ hatred. And then, you remind them again.

Here’s what I wish you’d remember: not everyone hated the Lost finale. In fact, I–and nearly ever viewer I know personally–loved it. No matter how it was meant to be interpreted, and subsequently was, it was a beautifully crafted, feature film-esque, character-driven episode, a set piece worthy of those previous 100-odd hours. It was wrenching, and exciting, and thoroughly satisfying. I’m not the only person who thinks so. And I think, somewhere in that adorably cynical brain of yours, you understand that.

It feels like you’ve forgotten that there are people who understood what you were trying to do and embraced it. So that’s what I want to remind you. For six years, Lost was a critically acclaimed and culturally influential program. It ended with a bang, or a few, and satisfyingly so. Please don’t forget that when George R.R. Martin forgets himself in an interview or someone sends you a death wish via tweet. You’re a good man, Damon Lindelof. And you deserve to remember that.

Sincerely,

Christy J. Admiraal, Lost fan and concerned citizen.

9 thoughts on “An Open Letter To Damon Lindelof

  1. I’m so glad you wrote this, tweeted it to Damon, and especially that he got to read it! You voiced quite eloquently exactly the sentiment that all of my friends and I share – the finale was EXCELLENT and neither he nor Mr. Cuse should feel any need to apologize for it. I hope he knows how many of us truly are grateful for his masterpiece of a series.

  2. You said it perfectly! I also thought it was cute at first (the way he would retweet the negative tweets), but I must admit that I’m growing disappointed with how he never seems to acknowledge the positive feedback. I’m sure he receives a ton of congratulatory heartfelt compliments every single day, along with perhaps a handful of nasty ones… but he virtually NEVER acknowledges the good ones, and instead puts the spotlight on the few bad ones. It creates the illusion to us fans that it doesn’t really pay to send compliments his way, because he won’t acknowledge anything unless it’s nasty. But on the other hand, I understand that there just isn’t enough time in the day for him to acknowledge every single good tweet. Still, I’m sure an occasional mass “Thank you for your support” tweet would be appreciated by all his fans. Anyway, sorry for the rant – just wanted to say BRAVO, and I really hope he reads it (and acknowledges it) as well!

    • He did post back to me, saying he was genuinely moved by what I said, and that he’d always defend, never apologize. It was quite a wonderful thing for him to do, and he seemed sincere.

    • That is SO awesome – both because he actually responded to you, and because he was so sweet about it! If I were in your shoes, I’d print out that message and frame it up! :-P

  3. Totally agree!!! Many thanks for putting into words what I’ve been thinking for so long now. Absolutely no need for apologies.

  4. It’s cool that he wrote back to you! I didn’t hate the finale, but I didn’t love it either.

    What I liked: It brought the series back to its character-driven roots. And the last shot of Jack: heartbreaking! What I didn’t like: It was too little, too late, and failed to make up for those 2 years (seasons 4 and 5 – UGH) where the show drowned in its own mythology. You just can’t provide us with 100 questions and not answer ANY of them. Boo.

    So that said, I loved Lost, then I hated Lost, but by series’ end, I broke even. I do still find it a little overrated, however.

Leave a Reply

