Televised Crushes

By my very nature, I am a list maker. When I can’t sleep, I make lists. When I’m bored, I make lists. When I was in class, I made lists, and sometimes, when there are far more important things to do, I make lists anyway. Last night, after a lovely, low-key birthday celebration with Scott, I made a list that falls into the category of “can’t sleep.” These lists never carry much water, as I often forget list items since they were thought up in a hazy, half-asleep state. However, after a bit of struggle with number four, I was able to remember everything that made its way onto the list–or, rather, everyone.

So, without further ado…

Television Characters I Would So Totally Date, Given the Chance in a Fictional Universe

Danny Concannon, The West Wing

Now, I haven’t finished The West Wing yet (not even close, actually, just concluded season one last night), so for all I know, Danny transforms into a despicable human being by the second episode of season two. But I’m counting on that not happening. So far, I gauge that Danny would be the perfect boyfriend. He’s adorably persistent, he gives thoughtful gifts (the image of him and the goldfish bowl comes to mind), and he’s highly professional, whether it helps the object of his affection (CJ, duh) or hurts her. Granted, Danny is probably somewhere far out of my dating age range, but no matter. This is all made up anyway.

Hugo “Hurley” Reyes, Lost

Hurley is consistently one of the most likable characters on the island, if not the most of all. He cares deeply about everyone around him, he attempts to make peace among them when conflict breaks out, and he has a deep sense of trust for his peers, even if that trust is sometimes misplaced. He’s got a little bit of the crazy going on, so that adds a nice touch of mystery. Plus, at series’ end, he lands a pretty awesome job, so he’ll always be able to support you. Further, can you imagine the kind of hugs this guy gives? I bet they’re amazing.

Jeff Winger, Community

Someone I know once told me that if she met Barney Stinson of How I Met Your Mother in her everyday life, there’s no way she wouldn’t fall for his jerky charms. That’s exactly how I feel about Jeff. Though he has a kind streak running through him, Jeff is generally not a nice guy. But he makes up for it in equal amounts of charming and smarmy. He has an excellent sense of humor, particularly in deadpan, well-timed form. Plus, he’s almost disconcertingly good-looking, which is always a plus.

Xander Harris, Buffy the Vampire Slayer

Initially, it was hard for me to settle on a Whedon geek. Angel’s Wesley Wyndham-Pryce is probably the best-looking and most kindhearted, Dollhouse’s Topher Brink is the most adorably cocky and the most intelligent (even eking out Wesley’s intimidating book smarts), and Hoban “Wash” Washburne from Firefly … well, he’s Wash, for goodness’ sake. But again and again, I keep coming back to Xander. Xander’s character arc is largely based around his insecurities, and how secure he becomes in being this non-gifted, still extraordinary guy over the course of seven years. He’s affable, and tolerant, and a fiercely loyal friend, no matter how many times he gets pushed aside. Also, he’s great with a pun or a punchline, and the guy suffers through the loss of an eye and can still make jokes about it. “Party in my eye socket and everyone’s invited!” is one of my favorite lines in the entire series. Also, it’s worth noting that Xander, far and away, reminds me most of my husband, and that’s going to get him points every time.

Honorable Mentions: Freaks and Geeks’ Nick Andropolis, Boy Meets World’s Shawn Hunter, The West Wing’s Charlie Young, DeGrassi: The Next Generation’s J.T. Yorke, and Battlestar Galactica’s Galen Tyrol

Leave a Reply

